Doing Squats

An alternate title could be “I’m a Handsome Rooster”.

When hens reach sexual maturity, they will “squat” when approached by a dude. It’s a natural submissive reaction to a dominant rooster. She’s feeling a little randy.

Gertie is normally loathe to let me touch her. She follows me around the yard, and comes running to me when I go outside. She will also eat out of my hand. But if I try to pet her or HEAVEN FORBID pick her up, she darts away.

NOT TODAY

Today, she squatted so fast that it took me by surprise. It was such a primitive response that she didn’t think about it. The speed was what shocked me most. Like frames were missing from a scene. Normal standing and wal-DOWN. Looking over at th-DOWN. And when she’s down, she moves her head really fast left and right. I think it might stress her out a little bit.

Having read SO MUCH about chickens over the past several months, I knew it that meant. MAH BAYBEH IS READY TO LAY AN EGG! Also, it’s like a party trick. “Hey man, hold my beer and watch what I can make my chicken do!”

It could still be a couple of weeks, but at least I know that eggs are imminent. Finally.

One thought on “Doing Squats

  1. Pingback: Full Production | KittyCow Farms

Leave a comment